The Realm Awards were created to recognize the most excellent speculative fiction books written by Christian authors in the previous calendar year.





The Realm Awards Categories

  • Science fiction
  • Fantasy
  • YA
  • Supernatural /Paranormal
  • Horror/Other
  • Debut
  • Children’s (NEW CATEGORY: Anything from picture books to middle grade novels targeting readers 12 and under.)

The winners of each category will receive a certificate of honor at the Quill Pen Editorial Awards Dinner, Friday night at Realm Makers 2018. Entries that fall within the five highest scoring books, across all categories, will move on to the Book of the Year (final) round of judging.

The three final round judges will not have access to the previous category scores. All five entries will start on level footing. It’s anyone’s game.

The winner of the Book of the Year award will receive a commemorative plaque and a cash prize of $250.

Final round judges for 2018 will be Kathy Tyers, James L. Rubart, and Robert Liparulo.

Eligibility Criteria


The contest opens on January 1, 2018. Entries will be accepted for three weeks.


The deadline for submissions is Sunday, January 21, at 12 midnight (EST).


The entry fee is $35.00 per category, plus the published book in eBook format


Entries must have been published in 2017—either traditionally or indie-published.

Entries for adult fiction must exceed 60,000 words. YA Fiction must exceed 50,000 words. Children’s books may span anywhere from picture books to upper middle grade and should have word counts which reflect the appropriate reading capacity of their intended audience.

Only the author can enter.

Subsequent editions and/or republications are not eligible.

  • This includes books that were independently published in a previous year but then published by a traditional publisher in the contest year.


Books can be entered in a maximum of 2 categories, but the entry fee must be paid for each submission.


Entries must be speculative fiction published by a Christian author. This is, after all, why Realm Makers exists. Does that mean it must have an obvious Christian message? Absolutely not. It means the author will need to agree to our Statement of Faith. We’re looking for amazing speculative fiction written by Christians. That’s it.


To enter, follow the link below, submit payment, and upload your .mobi file for judging. If you will be utilizing NetGalley to give us contest copies, there will be a check box to indicate this on the entry form. A contest representative will follow up with you to make arrangements to receive your work. Please be sure to make your publisher aware that contest copies still need to be received by the January 21 deadline.